Rural Olympics Hall of Fame The Rural Olympics Hall of Fame

The Rural Olympics Hall of Fame was founded in May, 2005. Our Mission is to honor those whose outstanding actions and extraordinary contributions to the Rural Olympics have resulted in its continued success, popularity, and quality. The Museum will collect, preserve and display artifacts and historical information pertaining to the Antelope Valley Fair and Alfalfa Festival Rural Olympics for the purpose of documenting the agricultural heritage of the Antelope Valley for future generations.

2017 Rural Olympics Hall of Fame

2017 ROHOF Inductees

The Rural Olympics Hall of Fame committee selected the following candidates for induction in 2017.  

The 2017 Golden Hay Hook Awards were presented at the AV Fair Kickoff to Rich Breault Paul Knapp and Liz Breault by John Knapp on left and by Bill Rawlings on the right.

2017 ROHOF Inductees

Paul Knapp

Paul Knapp 2017 Inductee

Paul Knapp began competing in the Rural Olympics in 1989 as mechanic for his dad John. They placed first and set a new record time in the Model T Ford Race. Over the next 10 years Paul and John competed together, winning seven times while setting new records twice. After John retired from the Model T Race in 1999, Paul took over the driving duties with his brother Pete serving as mechanic. Paul drove to victory six more times by 2005. The following year the Model T Race was replaced by the Auto Dash Race, which Paul and Pete won, establishing the first record in that competition. The brothers competed until 2008, when Paul moved away to continue his education, and become a medical doctor. Paul joins his father and brother in the Rural Olympics Hall of Fame. John was inducted in 2012 and Pete in 2015. With Paul’s induction, the Knapps join the Jaquas as the only Hall of Fame families with three members.

Pictured are Paul running with the jack and Pete mounting the wheel & tire during the Model T Ford Race at the 2004 Rural Olympics.

Rich & Liz Breault

Rich Breault 2017 ROHOF Inductee
For years Liz and Rich Breault were among the familiar faces on the infield at the Rural Olympics, held annually at the Antelope Valley Fair.
They were not regular competitors,officials or workers, yet their presence and efforts were appreciated by many fans of the fair’s unique and heralded event.
Liz photographed the Rural Olympics for 17 years, starting in 1996 for the City of Lancaster, then as AV Fair photographer from 1997 to 2012. Rich covered the Rural Olympics for nearly three decades as a reporter for the Antelope Valley Press, including writing feature stories on many of the competitors. He retired from the newspaper in 2013. Rich also competed twice in the Model T Race and once in the Tug-of-War. Many of Liz’s photos were extensively used to promote the fair and the Rural Olympics and can still be seen in the Antelope Valley Rural Museum.
The Breaults’ dedication to the fair and the Rural Olympics was demonstrated by their outstanding photographs and articles.

They were also very supportive of the efforts to create the Antelope Valley Rural Museum. Not only did they help with photos and articles, but also as contributors to the exhibits and the building fund.




Pictured are Rich in the Press Box at the 2008 Rural Olympics, and Liz in 2009.


July 2019
Glenn Losey II
Lori Losey

July 2018
Max Harter
Randy Jaqua

July 2017
Paul Knapp
Rich Breault
Liz Breault

July 2016
John Calvert
David Calvert

July 2015
Pete Knapp
Julie Kyle

July 2014
John Krueger
Darth Eliopulos
Bert Weststyn
Pete Weststyn

July 2013
Giovanni Simi
Chris Planellas
Steve McCormack
Randy Hall

July 2012
Bill Rawlings
Danny Taylor
John Knapp
Scott Harter

July 2011
Jeff Godde
Marleen Griffin
Tom Hall
Terry Rice
Gonzalo Rodriguez
Bruce Yates

July 2010
Ralph Bozigian
Ted Eliopulos
Harold Johnson
Frank Lori
Bill Offingai
Rick Offinga
Bob Yates

July 2009
Wayne Arnold
Ron Carter
Whit Carter
Don Jaqua, Jr.
Sheldon Jaqua
“Old Militia” / Ernie Bailey
Vern Wemple

July 2008
Mel Clark
Al Duncan
Otis Fairchild
John Hemme
Bobby Jones
Judge William Keller
Ray Krueger
Don Padgett

July 2007
Olin Derrick
Les Fredeen
Lawrence “Butch” Godde
Len Griffin
Len Leydecker
M.J. “Jumbo” Reynolds
Frank Stubbings
Keith Tindall

July 2006
Dean Berg
Walter Detjen
Glenn Losey
Lester Losey
Harold “Red Dog” Mansperger
Ray McCormick
Scott Rawlings

July 2005
Donald R. Jaqua, Sr.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from AVRM.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This