2016 ROHOF Inductees

The Rural Olympics Hall of Fame committee selected the following candidates for induction in 2016.  

The 2016 Golden Hay Hook Awards were presented at the AV Fair Kickoff by Bill Rawlings, center to David Calvert, left, and John Calvert, right.

The Calvert Brothers
John & David

John and David Calvert 2016 Inductees

Since 1991 brothers John and David Calvert have competed in the Antique Auto Potato Race with David driving their 1949 Plymouth Coupe and John stabbing the 5 potatoes along the 100 yard course.  They won first place that first year and four more times since. As of their 2016 induction into the Rural Olympics Hall of Fame they had finished in the top three places thirteen times.

A new Potato Race record of 17.14 seconds was set by the Calvert Brothers in 1994. Then in 2003, the last year at the Division and Avenue I Fairgrounds, John and David tied their own record. For over 25 years no other team managed to complete that race within 2.3 seconds of the Calvert’s twice equaled time.  Even though another class for newer and even modified autos has been added to the event, John & David Calvert have held their record.

Pictured is John Calvert stabbing and David Calvert driving in the 2014 Rural Olympics.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from AVRM.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This