2015 ROHOF Inductees

The Rural Olympics Hall of Fame committee selected the following candidates for induction in 2015.  The 2015 Golden Hay Hook Awards were presented at the AV Fair kickoff. G. Simi at far left inducted Julie Kyle and Pete Knapp into the Rural Olympics Hall of Fame.

2015 ROHOF Inductees


Pete Knapp
Pete Knapp 2015 Inductee

Pete Knapp began competing in the Rural Olympics with his dad John in 1987, and now joins him as a member of the Rural Olympics Hall of Fame.  They earned second place prize money that year, and have continued for nearly thirty years with ten top three finishes and five first place victories, including a record setting race in 2008 with a time of 20.79 seconds.

Pete also had success in the Model T Race from 1999-2005 as the mechanic with his brother Paul driving to victory six out of the seven years. The brothers continued their success when the Antique Auto Dash Race replaced the Model T Race by winning twice and placing top three all five years.


Pictured is Pete during the tire change pit stop in the 2004 Model T Ford Race which he won with his brother Paul.  Later that day they also beat the John Deere Tractor in the Farmer’s Handicap


Julie Kyle 2015 Inductee

Julie Kyle

Julie first competed in the Rural Olympics in 1983 stabbing potatoes with her husband Gailen in the Antique Auto Potato Race.  They tied for second place that first year.

Over the next thirty plus years Julie would enjoy success while racing with four different teammates.  Top three places would be attained ten times with five first place finishes, including back to back victories with her daughter Katie at the wheel in 2013 and 2014.

Pictured are Julie stabbing the potato with daughter Katie driving to victory in the 2013 Antique Auto Potato Race

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from AVRM.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This