Rural Olympics Hall of Fame The Rural Olympics Hall of Fame

The Rural Olympics Hall of Fame was founded in May, 2005. Our Mission is to honor those whose outstanding actions and extraordinary contributions to the Rural Olympics have resulted in its continued success, popularity, and quality. The Museum will collect, preserve and display artifacts and historical information pertaining to the Antelope Valley Fair and Alfalfa Festival Rural Olympics for the purpose of documenting the agricultural heritage of the Antelope Valley for future generations.

2005 Rural Olympics Hall of Fame


Donald Rex Jaqua, Sr.
Jan. 25, 1898 – Apr. 24, 1983

In 2005 the Rural Olympics Hall of Fame selection committee chose Donald “Jake” Jaqua, Sr. to be the first recipient of the Golden Hay Hook award. As Bill Gillis so aptly stated in his May 1, 1983 column:

“There’s no one who would dispute that Jake was the ‘father of the Antelope Valley Fair,’ the driving force behind the founding of the Antelope Valley Fair and Alfalfa Festival in the late 30’s and 40’s.”

Others simply referred to him as the “father of the Rural Olympics.”

On September 9, 2005 during a break in the Rural Olympics, Don’s granddaughter Janine Simi, fifth from left, accepted the Golden Hay Hook Award on behalf of the Jaqua family.  Pictured are Don’s family members and AV Fair personnel from left to right:  Announcer Larry Naston,  Director Mathew Jimmink,  great-grand daughter Chenin Dow, Fair Board President Lee Roy Halley, Janine Simi, great-grand children Tylor Simi,  Sarah Wolleson,  Travis Jaqua, Amanda Wolleson, granddaughter Marcy Jaqua, Director Darth Eliopulos, Director Stephen K. McElroy, and Rural Olympics Hall of Fame Chairman Bill Rawlings.


July 2019
Glenn Losey II
Lori Losey

July 2018
Max Harter
Randy Jaqua

July 2017
Paul Knapp
Rich Breault
Liz Breault

July 2016
John Calvert
David Calvert

July 2015
Pete Knapp
Julie Kyle

July 2014
John Krueger
Darth Eliopulos
Bert Weststyn
Pete Weststyn

July 2013
Giovanni Simi
Chris Planellas
Steve McCormack
Randy Hall

July 2012
Bill Rawlings
Danny Taylor
John Knapp
Scott Harter

July 2011
Jeff Godde
Marleen Griffin
Tom Hall
Terry Rice
Gonzalo Rodriguez
Bruce Yates

July 2010
Ralph Bozigian
Ted Eliopulos
Harold Johnson
Frank Lori
Bill Offingai
Rick Offinga
Bob Yates

July 2009
Wayne Arnold
Ron Carter
Whit Carter
Don Jaqua, Jr.
Sheldon Jaqua
“Old Militia” / Ernie Bailey
Vern Wemple

July 2008
Mel Clark
Al Duncan
Otis Fairchild
John Hemme
Bobby Jones
Judge William Keller
Ray Krueger
Don Padgett

July 2007
Olin Derrick
Les Fredeen
Lawrence “Butch” Godde
Len Griffin
Len Leydecker
M.J. “Jumbo” Reynolds
Frank Stubbings
Keith Tindall

July 2006
Dean Berg
Walter Detjen
Glenn Losey
Lester Losey
Harold “Red Dog” Mansperger
Ray McCormick
Scott Rawlings

July 2005
Donald R. Jaqua, Sr.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from AVRM.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This